2016 Awards Winners



Presented 2016 Scholarships to 5th and 6th Grade Scholars

Basseterre, St. Kitts, June 28, 2016 – The William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Fund recognized students excelling in the classroom and exhibiting strong moral character at its 6th Annual Awards Ceremony on June 23, 2016 at Tucker-Clarke Primary School. The Fund presented its annual award to two young students: 12 year-old Vinika O’Loughlin, a future attorney and an aspiring teacher, 10 year-old Zeniah Jeffers.

Scholars were selected based on financial need, community involvement and moral character. Vinika is active in her church, is on the honour and merit rolls and actively participates in her school’s spelling bee competitions. Zeniah is a perennial honour roll student who enjoys cheerleading and plays center for the school’s netball team.

The 2016 Natta Scholars were presented with a trophy and two gift certificates, redeemable at Schools Apex Co-Operative and Laws Bookstore. The scholarship recipients also received a cash award towards the establishment of a Future Planner savings account at the St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla National Bank Ltd. that the Bank also will be matching. Other applicants received tokens of appreciation compliments of the William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Fund and the St. Kitts-Nevis- Anguilla National Bank.

The featured speaker for the scholarship awards ceremony was Ms. Jihan Williams, an attorney with the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis and deputy clerk in the Federal Parliament of St. Kitts and Nevis. Ms. Williams delivered an uplifting and interactive speech to the audience of teachers and students under the ceremony’s theme “Imagine. Believe. Achieve.” She encouraged the young students to always think big and set high goals for themselves but she cautioned that they should always put in the work necessary to achieve their dreams.

Brief remarks were also delivered by Mr. Daryl Lloyd, deputy chief education officer, who encouraged the students to believe in themselves no matter what obstacles may arise. The 6th Annual Awards ceremony closed with an energetic and melodious steelpan medley by Miss Abion Stevens, the reigning 2016 Ms. Basseterre High School.

The William Marcus Natta Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in April 2010 to support students in grades five and six who demonstrate academic excellence, sound moral character and passion for community service. Each year, a male and female student are selected for the scholarship award.

For more information, please call +1 869 664 8055 or Contact Us.

- END -